Deakin Marine

Join and receive your copy of IWN!

Locations of visitors to this page

Dublin Branch / Five Lamps Festival

Posted by joe treacy 
Dublin Branch / Five Lamps Festival
08 April, 2011 10:16
Folks,

gave a little hand out to branch members involved in this local community effort which for three days will be doing some art / storytelling / boat trips etc. etc. at Charleville Mall on the Royal Canal. Trojan efforts from Derek Whelan, Mick Kinahan and Mick Farrell . The happy faces made it all worthwhile - a couple of pics from yesterday.

Re: Dublin Branch / Five Lamps Festival
08 April, 2011 20:15
I counted 57 "passengers" yesterday Joe.....133 today. We'll be at it again tomorrow from about 11.30 to 5 PM.

M(W&W)F
10 April, 2011 17:01
Me head is wrecked...!! 3 days trying to keep very free spirited kids under some sort of control. "Put that lifejacket back on" I'd say, to the inevitable reply of "ahhh but Mister, I'm a professional swimmer". There should be a boatload of Olympic Gold Swimming medals coming our way in the next dozen years...!! Still, no one fell in or got hurt and the kids had great fun...!!

The Dubh Linn did 37 trips over the 3 days carrying a total of 336 passengers, most of whom had never been on a boat before. The oldest was one Bridie Sharkey, who celebrated her 100th birthday last November. We also met 84 year old Eddie Lynch. He's lived in the lock house at the 1st lock all his life, and was the lock keeper, as was his father before him.

The overwhelming majority of people I spoke with were delighted to see boats back on the canal and are now looking forward to seeing next weeks convoy from Clontarf Yacht Club heading for the Shannon, and the boats heading into and out from the Dublin Rally.