Barrowline Cruisers

Deakin Marine

Join and receive your copy of IWN!

Locations of visitors to this page

It was Winter 2005...

Posted by Paul J Scannell 
It was Winter 2005...
14 November, 2017 21:26
He said that the front of a boat is called 'the bow'...and the back of a boat is called 'the stern'. I scrambled to write it down on my jotter. And then he mentioned 'port' and 'starboard' and I continued writing everything down with the feverishness of an absolute novice. My head was swimming with terms that were so alien to me.

It was sometime during Winter 2005. I was contemplating the acquisition of my first boat. I had posted on the IWAI Forum...'Newbie dips his toes in the water...' and he had responded, together with others who also offered assistance to the newbie. Maurice (M.G.) Kerr was particularly helpful in subsequent months when I eventually purchased 'Arthur'.

But, this was before I had even acquired a boat and he was giving me a sound introduction. And I was a complete novice. We met in the Pillo (now Maldron) Hotel in Galway and over a couple of coffees he introduced me to terminology which at the time was like a foreign language. His own boat, 'Amicus', was made of steel and although that was his preference he did not hesitate to highlight the pros of fibreglass.

More than that, he invited me to visit his boat in its home berth in Madden’s, Portumna. And there he pointed out the virtues of the marina ...'in good weather you can exit the marina, turn left and head down past Portumna Bridge and on to Lough Derg. And in poor weather you can exit the marina and turn right and go up river.' It turned out to be a perfect location, just as he said.