Barrowline Cruisers

Join and receive your copy of IWN!

Locations of visitors to this page

Advice Appreciated

Posted by Graham 
Advice Appreciated
22 March, 2019 14:25
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time post. I just picked up a 17ft Speed Boat & 100Hp 2 Stoke Outboard with 25 Liter Tank and am planning to use the boat for occasional daytrips up and down the Shannon. I'm Ballinasloe based so the Suck will provide me with access to the Shannon via a small slipway in Coreen Ford whenever the flood waters subside. Could I ask what kind of range or distance could be expected to be covered in such a boat and how long is it advisable to run such engines continuously ? If things work out well this year my plan is to purchase a 3 or 4 Berth Cruiser to take longer runs up the Shannon. Despite being a speed boat it is quite roomy so will suffice for the daytrips I have planned. Any advice or recommendations of places to visit will be very welcome.
Cheers
Re: Advice Appreciated
22 March, 2019 17:55
17 foot and 100HP !

Not many places on the Shannon where you could use that. 20HP more than sufficient. Might be economical enough to have a decent range, too.

4 Berth cruiser sounds much more sense.

Tom K (Sailboat Scimitar)
23 March, 2019 12:31
Hi Graham,

No doubt a powerboat branch member will have good advice.

Once you are out of the river suck and onto the lakes there is a plenty of space for getting onto the plane.

Enjoy.

If no reply on here send an email to powerboat@iwai.ie. I'm sure they will be helpful
23 March, 2019 18:53
Quote:
Patrick H
Hi Graham,
No doubt a powerboat branch member will have good advice.

Once you are out of the river suck and onto the lakes there is a plenty of space for getting onto the plane.

Enjoy.

If no reply on here send an email to powerboat@iwai.ie. I'm sure they will be helpful

If a person wants to turn petrol into noise then a 100hp engine on a 17ft boat is the way to go.