Issued Feb 9, 2015


Election 2016 – Canal Bill Pledge

IWAI request election candidates to pledge their support for an IWAI call for provision to be made for new canal bye-laws via a dedicated Canal Bill during the next Dáil when possible rather than including any future legislation in a joint Bill such as the Heritage bill 2016. Furthermore, in developing The Canal (Amendment) Bill 2017 that recognition be given to the canal users, canal communities and Local Authorities adjoining the canals by way of pre- legislative consultation and scrutiny. This approach would be in line with Government reform and best practice.

First Pledges received                                                                            PDF DOWNLOAD

Roderic O’GormanDublin WestGP
Kieran Adam QuigleyDublin South WestIND
Sean HaughyDublin Bay NorthFF
Paul HandDublin South CentralIND
Tracy McElhinneyMeath WestLAB
Teresa Ryan-FeehanOffalyIND
Maebh Ni FhalluinKildare NorthGP
Emmet StaggKildare NorthLAB
Anna DoyleWicklowAAA-PBP
Bobby AylwardCarlow-KilkennyFF
Shirley GriffinCork North WestCPPC
Margaret SheehanMayoGP
Cormac DevlinDun LaoghaireFF
Marcella Corcoran KennedyOffalyFG
Michael FitzgeraldKerryGP
Michael O’DowdLouthRN
Jim O’ConnellCork South CentralAAA-PBP
Malcolm NoonanCarlow/KilkennyGP
Ronan McMahonDublin South WestREN
Joe HanniganOffalyIND
Barry CowenOffalyFF
John FoleyOffalyIND
Aengus MeliaGalway EastDDI-NCM
Frank O’RourkeKildare NorthFF
James LawlessKildare NorthFF
Cormac ManningCork North WestGP
Declan CroweKildare SouthIND
Lorna BogueCork South CentralGP
John WhelanLaoisLAB
Mark WallKildare SouthLAB
Brendan YoungKildare NorthIND
Kate BoppOffalyIND
Paul HoganLongford/WestmeathSF
Manchan MaganLongford/WestmeathGP
Connie Gerrity QuinnLongford/WestmeathFF
Bernard DurkanKildare NorthFG
Michael O’BrienDublin Bay NorthAAA-PBP
Eugene MurphyRoscommon/GalwayFF
Aisling O’NeillMeath EastSD
Niamh O’BrienClareFN
Christopher FettesOffalyGP
Peter BurkeLongford/WestmeathFG
Cieran PerryDublin CentralIND
Conor Mac LiamCarlow/KilkennyAAA-PBP
Donal CorcoranKerryREN
Averil PowerDublin Bay NorthIND
Andrew KeeganDublin North WestAAA-PBP
Peter FitzpatrickDublin South WestIND
Sean O FearghailKildare SouthFF
Finian McGrathDublin Bay NorthIND
Caroline ConroyDublin North WestGP
Joe O’BrienDublin FingalGP
Oisin O hAlmhainDublin South CentralGP
Gearoid FitzgibbonTipperaryGP
Eddie ConroyRoscommon/GalwayAAA-PBP
Catherine MartinDublin RathdownGP
Fiona Mcloughlin-HealyKildare SouthFG
Steven MatthewsWicklowGP
Barry MartinDublin FingalAAA-PBP
Micheal CallaghanCavan/MonaghanGP
Oliver MoranCork North CentralGP
Catherine MurphyKildare NorthSD
Anthony LawlorKildare NorthFG
Diana O DwyerDublin CentralAAA-PBP
Eddie FitzpatrickOffalyFF
Carol NolanOffalySF
Paul MurphyDublin South WestAAA-PBP
Ken SmollenOffalyIDP
Ian Noel SmythDublin CentralGP
John LeahyOffalyREN
Reada CroninKildare NorthSF
Robert TroyLongford/WestmeathFF
Gerry AdamsLouthSF
Niall O TuathailGalway WestSD
Thomas ByrneMeath EastFF
James BannonLongford/WestmeathFG
Paul GogartyDublin Mid WestIND
James MorganLongford-WestmeathIND
Willie PenroseLongford-WestmeathLAB

The Inland Waterways Association of Ireland (IWAI) has issued a public invitation to all candidates in the upcoming election to pledge their support for an IWAI call for provision to be made for new canal bye-laws via a dedicated Canal Bill during the next Dáil. Support for this on- line pledge will help ensure that adequate byelaws are legislated for that will encourage the use and growth of the canals and be centered on the communities, users, and tourism.